My First Sweater

I may have mentioned that I love knitting socks. In reality, I have also found that anything more complicated is a little daunting. Now, I have been told by several experienced knitters that if I can knit socks, I can pretty  much do anything. Learning how to make socks has taught me how to knit, pearl, increase and decrease, so I felt that I was ready to move onto a sweater. I wanted to make something for myself and decided that I also wanted a cardigan type sweater. So I picked Kate Davies’ Owligan. It’s pretty straightforward and I think it’s a good choice for a beginner. Not too complicated. And I love owls, so that was a given! I also love the wool that Sophie helped me pick out at my LYS, Itsy Bitsy Yarn Store. It’s so soft and such a great grey colour!

I ordered the wool and it took a couple of weeks to come in. I have been so excited! So when it arrived, I started right away. I have now completed the start of the body and started one sleeve. I thought I would share some of my pictures of progress.

Cascade Yarns, Lana Grande, Colour 6068

Cascade Yarns, Lana Grande, Colour 6068

I made a swatch for good measure!

I made a swatch for good measure!

The finished body.

The finished body.

And the first sleeve is started!

And the first sleeve is started!

I’ll keep you posted on the progress. Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “My First Sweater

Leave a Reply

