Endings and Beginnings

I finally finished my girl’s birthday socks and also the socks I promised my Mom for Mother’s Day. I don’t want it to sound like an excuse, but I have a lot of stuff going on. Oh, and I work full time, so that doesn’t help! Anyway, here are some pics of the final blocking of the socks and the start of something new!

So here's a little wool wash in the kitchen sink.

So here’s a little wool wash in the kitchen sink.

Then the sockies!

Then the sockies!

Having a lovely bath!

Having a lovely bath!

Then we squeeze all the water out.

Then we squeeze all the water out.

Roll them up in a towel.

Roll them up in a towel.

Squish even more water out!

Squish even more water out! (I know I need a pedicure!)

And lay flat to dry.

And lay flat to dry.

My Mom called today and said she loved her new purple socks! Of course it is a bit warm these days for woolies, but it will eventually be winter again, I’m sure!

I also started a new pair of socks, for myself for a change. I love the wool, it’s Madeline Tosh Sock in the colour Rhubarb. Β Isn’t that a fabulous name for a wool colour?

Rhubarb, mmmm!

Rhubarb, mmmm!

Until this Christmas, I would use whoever was around as my swift. Thank goodness Santa knew what I needed!

Until this Christmas, I would use whoever was around as my swift. Thank goodness Santa knew what I needed!

Ah, a new start.

Ah, a new start.

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

Nothing like a new pair of socks to make life a little more colourful.

Nothing like a new pair of socks to make life a little more colourful.

Endings and beginnings, they are everywhere, even in knitting. There really is nothing as satisfying as actually finishing something, and also being able to make someone’s day! And I love starting new things too. I bought the new Madelintosh in Skagway, so I’ve been waiting on it for a while. Here comes a new pair of socks for me!

Leave a Reply

