Why I don’t put my kids on the Internet

So, you’ve probably wondered by now why you haven’t seen any pictures of my kids on this blog. I’ve mentioned them, told you I’m a Mom, but no names, no pics. I just wanted to explain myself, hopefully without being preachy or judgmental, which is not what this post is about at all.

I don’t put pictures of my kids on the internet. Not here on the blog or on facebook. My kids don’t have an internet footprint at all, because I have never posted their names or likenesses. I don’t even let their school post their pics on the school website. I guess I probably sound like a bit of a freak in this day and age when most kids are on the internet before they’re born. But I really feel strongly about keeping my kids off. I realize that one day they may be upset with the choice I’ve made and wonder why they don’t have a facebook album from their babyhoods like Billy down the street, but it’s about my kids’ privacy. And when they reach the age that they can make those decisions, then they can. It’s not my life, it’s theirs. There is a line in a book I read once about how a child is the subplot in someone else’s life, and I get that perspective. I just know, too, that they aren’t going to be children forever.

It’s also that I’m being greedy about who gets to see my kids and comment on the parenting part of my life. I don’t want to share all of my family’s memories with everyone. I created this blog to connect with other arty/knitty people and share my views on life in the Yukon, but I have deliberately left my kids out of it, except for the odd anecdote here and there. I don’t want to give parenting advice to other people and I don’t want to solicit it from others, even if it’s just a comment about what my kids are wearing.

When I set out on this blog journey, I wrote a list of things that I like to read on other people’s blogs. I like knitting, art, gardening, travel, and of course I love the pictures that go along with all those topics. I can relate to people who have kids, who understand the pressures that come with being a parent, but I really can do without the advice and I kind of avoid parenting blogs altogether. During my first pregnancy, I over-read and over-researched everything. I wanted to be prepared, like most new mothers, and I think I over did it. I freaked myself out pretty good and I made a deal with myself to take all parenting advice with a grain of salt. My experience is not the same as yours. Every life is different and we all experience the world through different filters. And I do believe that instinct is sometimes more valuable in a parent’s life than papers and studies and even so-called “helpful” advice. I reallyΒ thinkΒ we’re all doing the best we can with what we have to work with. I know my kids didn’t come with a manual.

My point is, I don’t put my kids on the internet for my own personal reasons. You won’t see them here, at least until they reach an age where they understand that the internet is forever and anything they put on it will never disappear.

I just wanted to clear that up, in case you’ve been wondering where the kids are. I hope we can still be friends, even if I won’t let you post that pic that our kids are in together!

Leave a Reply

