I Love Moving…No Wait, I Hate Moving

So, I’ve been kind of gone for a while, whoever is out there reading, if there is anyone out there reading, besides you, Mom! I am still waiting to have my internet set up at home, if you can believe it! But I have officially moved into town! Yay! It took me ten minutes to get to work all this week, as opposed to almost thirty. I have had numerous long, hot showers, done multipleĀ loads of laundry already, and the boy is super excited about his bath tonight because he can fill the tub all the way to the top!

The neighbourhood is lovely so far. I don’t want to jinx myself, but everyone is friendly and smiley. I mean, out of the two people I’ve met at the mail box. It’s still totally weird to be around people, like all the time. They are everywhere from what I can see out the windows.

This is off the back deck. I take the rainbow as a good sign!

This is off the back deck. I take the rainbow as a good sign!

moving-7

We haven’t really been out and about too much yet as we are still unpacking. It’s funny how much stuff we still have even after purging so much before we put the house on the market, and then again over the last month before moving. On the other hand, the house is super empty. Moving from 1200 sq. ft. into 2400 sq. ft. means we totally don’t have enough furniture. Happily, we’ll be buying some new stuff, so that’s good.

The actual move, compared to moving, was nothing short of a nightmare. I mean, it was fine, as far as moving goes. I haven’t moved in about ten years, so I forgot how much it sucks ass. For reference to the ass sucking, here is a pic of what was found under my daughter’s bed. Don’t ask, I don’t know how and I can’t even.

The girl hasn't been into Dora the Explorer for about six years, I swear!

The girl hasn’t been into Dora the Explorer for about six years, I swear!

It was a little eye opening once all the stuff was out of the house. How is it not possible to live in this much space? I know people do it all the time, but for us, it was not enough. And living in a climate where you can’t go outside for sometimes significant parts of the year, we needed to move on. It’s hard to not have enough space at -40 and I’m not ashamed to admit that sometimes I need to get away from my people. I’m really an introvert and I need my space.

moving-2

moving-3

moving-3

Which brings me to my favourite thing about my new house! The Studio!! Yes, I will finally have a room of my own, a place to keep all my arty things and paintings in process, a spot where I don’t have to put it all away before I go to bed. A place that is not my living room!!! So exciting! It has wallpaper, but I can get rid of it easy and paint it something lovely. It has a big window and hopefully I’ll get lots of light this winter. I’m so happy and it makes me feel like I’m a real artist, enough of an artist to necessitate an entire studio! I see many happy hours spent here creating, by myself and with the kids, and maybe friends too. Oh, the possibilities!

moving-5

moving-4

moving-6

I’ll have more for you when I can finally find all my crap…and if they ever get the internet hooked up! It may be a while!

One thought on “I Love Moving…No Wait, I Hate Moving

Leave a Reply

