I’m Back, and Boy Do I Love North American Plumbing!

So, I had a really great time in Scotland. There is so much history and art, and it was nice to have a little vacation with my Mom. Extra nice that we both survived each other, ha, ha! I have so many pics of art and architecture to show you! We went to many museums and art galleries and I saw a Dali, a Da Vinci, and a Van Gogh, but that will have to be another post!

For this post I would like to share my experiences as a spoiled Canadian traveler. I have never considered myself spoiled, but over here in Canada, or North America in general really, we have it good. I’m not saying I was using a hole in the ground for a toilet, because I know that is common in other parts of the world. But I have to say, plumbing technology has not made it to the Old World quite yet.

This whole bathroom was a shower; that doesn't make it good.

This whole bathroom was a shower; that doesn’t make it good.

For example, most toilets I came across were, and I’ll put it gently, old. Yes, old. And by old I mean, there’s a chain you pull at the top to flush. No worries on that front really. Just the spoiled Canadian talking again! The toilets worked and that really is all you need. The showering however was not what I thought it would be. I spent a couple of showers in a very narrow tub with the shower curtain completely stuck to one side of my body, which makes it extremely hard to wash, not to mention, very unhygenic. So, I figured, when in Rome, do as the Romans do, and I switched to baths.

Great tub, bad shower.

Great tub, bad shower.

The tubs “over there” are different from here. They are longer, for one thing, and deeper, which is nice. My own tub at home is so shallow, I haven’t even had a bath since we moved in! So in that regard it was really great. However, if you have noticed in my pictures, I have a lot of thick, curly hair. Let’s just say, washing said hair in a tub is a venture in futility. I really didn’t get my hair washed that well until I got home. Needless to say, my hair did not like Scotland. I don’t think it was just the bathing either. It was quite humid in Scotland when we were there, no rain, but it’s right on the Atlantic Ocean. Maybe I’m just speaking for myself here, but curly people don’t like humidity. Whenever I visit my parents in Victoria, it’s the same deal. Flat, frizzy and unmanageable. No amount of product helps, and actually seems to exacerbate the problem. See photos below for evidence.

Another bad hair day.

Another bad hair day.

Bad hair at the museum.

Bad hair at the museum.

And of course, Scotland made up for it’s terrible plumbing with some spectacular days and amazing scenery, so I guess I’ll forgive it.

On the way to St. Andrew's.

On the way to St. Andrew’s.

The one day we sort of got a little rain.

The one day we sort of got a little rain.

Driving around Edinburgh.

Driving around Edinburgh.

Edinburgh Castle, my favourite!

Edinburgh Castle, my favourite!

Anyway, it’s good to be home, if for nothing but the plumbing. Although, the plumbing really was just the icing on the cake. I missed my hubby and kids so much, I have no words. I saw so many kids and families and it made me homesick for my own little bubble of love. I came home to many lovely pictures welcoming me home and clean pajamas on the bed. Dorothy was right, no matter where you go, there’s no place like home!

2 thoughts on “I’m Back, and Boy Do I Love North American Plumbing!

Leave a Reply

