The Art and History of Scotland

So, one of the best parts of my trip to Scotland was visiting all the museums and galleries with my Mom. It was something we were both really interested in and something both my Dad and the Hubby would not have been super interested in, so I’m glad we got to do it together. I do think the kids would have loved parts of it though, especially the National Museum in Edinburgh. The T-Rex alone would have totally blown them away! But the galleries, I’m sure, would have bored them to tears. And it’s hard to stay quiet in the galleries. Great paintings would have held their attention for only so long.

Anyway, in Scotland, all the museums and major galleries are free, yes free. Okay, by donation, but still super reasonable! And well worth the donation. We visited the Scottish National Gallery, the Portrait Gallery and the National Museum in Edinburgh, along with the Edinburgh Castle, which technically isn’t a museum, but was awesome anyway, and worth the visit. In Glasgow, we visited the Gallery of Modern Art, the Kelvingrove Art Museum and Stirling Castle. And all these places are so full of amazing art and history. I have so many pictures to share with you, so I think I’ll do a post about the museums and castles and then one about the art galleries. They were so different, so it’s probably a good idea to separate them. Anyway, consider yourselves warned; this post is heavy on the pictures!

Here’s the National Museum. We were there on a Sunday, and it was so nice to see all the families there, although it made me miss my own. A very kid-centric place with lots of stuff to see and do.

Giant deer from the Ice Age.

Giant deer from the Ice Age.

T-Rex.

T-Rex.

For the Hubby.

They had a display of Northern Canada, so I had to take this pic for the Hubby!

mus-4

William Wallace.

William Wallace.

So many beautiful carvings. Humans accomplished so much before tv.

So many beautiful carvings. Humans accomplished so much before tv.

Mary, Queen of Scots.

Mary, Queen of Scots.

The Chess Set.

The Chess Set.

So many stones.

So many stones.

mus-10

mus-11

Then, we went to Edinburgh Castle. It was so amazing. My favourite part was Margaret’s Chapel, which is the oldest building in Scotland, built in 1093. Mom and I just sat there for a bit trying to absorb the enormity of that date.

The Castle. I think this open area is where they do the Military Tattoo every year. Sad we missed it.

The Castle. I think this open area is where they do the Military Display (they call it Military Tattoo) every year. Sad we missed it. I would have loved to see the pipers!

The Gates

The Gates

Easy to believe that this castle was never taken by enemies.

Easy to believe that this castle was never taken by enemies.

View from the top.

View from the top.

You can even see the ocean from up here!

You can even see the ocean from up here!

DSC00870

Aww!

Aww!

It was like a little city inside the walls.

It was like a little city inside the walls.

Margaret's Chapel.

Margaret’s Chapel.

The architecture of Margaret's Chapel.

The architecture of Margaret’s Chapel.

Queen Margaret

Queen Margaret

We saw the crown jewels, but we weren't allowed to take pics.

We saw the crown jewels, but we weren’t allowed to take pics.

We also went to Stirling Castle when we were in Glasgow. You may remember this castle from the Braveheart movie as the location of the first battle William Wallace won against the British. There is also a monument dedicated to William Wallace, but unfortunately it wasn’t part of our tour. I did get some pics of it from a distance though.

Overlooking the town of Stirling.

Overlooking the town of Stirling.

The front gates.

The front gates.

This fog was the only

This fog was the only “Scottish” weather we saw all week.

mus-25

Inside the walls.

Inside the walls.

The Great Hall.

The Great Hall.

Aren't you a little short for a Stormtrooper?

“Aren’t you a little short for a Stormtrooper?”

The Queen's Room

The Queen’s Room

The Wallace Monument. I got a better pic on a postcard I picked up!

The Wallace Monument.

Our tour guide around the Highlands, John. He was awesome!

Our tour guide around the Highlands, John, from Rabbie’s Tours. He was awesome!

And one more castle for you Monty Python fans out there. This is where they filmed part of the movie The Holy Grail.

Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum was one of my favourite museums which also had a lot of art, including the Salvador Dali. I took lots of pics of the art for my follow up art post, but here are the pics I took from the museum areas. This included an exhibit on armour, the Vikings, clothes from the 19th Century, and Ancient Egypt.

Those Vikings sure loved their stones!

Those Vikings sure loved their stones!

A really big Viking stone!

A really big Viking stone!

mus-37

I have enough trouble getting dressed in the morning.

I have enough trouble getting dressed in the morning.

Love this colour!

Love this colour!

Armour exhibit.

Armour exhibit.

Even the horses had armour!

Even the horses had armour!

Armour posse.

Armour posse.

I was obsessed with Egypt when I was a kid.

I was obsessed with Egypt when I was a kid.

mus-43

mus-44

mus-45

So there, I warned you! Lots of pictures! If you are still interested, stayed tuned for the art blog after this one.

Leave a Reply

