The Art and History of Scotland, Part 2

So, Mom and I also went to quite a few galleries while we were in Scotland. Now, I have to say, being around so much art was, for me, a definite highlight of the trip. All the galleries were fabulous, but if I had to pick a favourite, it would be The Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum in Glasgow. They had a Salvador Dali, and he’s one of my favourite artists for sure. It was awesome to see one of his paintings in person.

All the major galleries in Scotland were free too, just like the museums and I just love that the Scots make all their fabulous art accessible to everyone. What a fabulous gift to their people. I wish we could have spent more time, maybe long enough to sit and sketch for an hour or two, but we were on a pretty tight schedule. So, I took a ton of pics and I’m working on filling out my sketch books now that I’m home. I’ll have a post of the sketch books later too. There may even be a stained glass or Celtic cross inspired show in my future, who knows!

Anyway, here are the pics. Just like the last post, this one is full of pictures. Enjoy!

Our first gallery we went to was the Scottish National Gallery. It was awesome! They had a DaVinci and we had the best lunch there.

The Madonna of the Yarn Winder, 1501, Leonardo DaVinci. (How appropriate for a knitter!)

The Madonna of the Yarn Winder, 1501, Leonardo DaVinci. (How appropriate for a knitter!)

art-2

I thought I would include the description from the gallery. I found it interesting.

Detail.

Detail.

I didn't get the artist or year for many of the pics in this post. I liked this one because of the ladies dress and the lamb.

I didn’t get the artist or year for many of the pics in this post. I liked this one because of the lady’s dress and the lamb.

He looked real enough to reach out and pet!

He looked real enough to reach out and pet!

Cherubs!

Cherubs! (with a creepy guy with skulls in the distance?)

This painting of a dog looks just like my little Ringo, who passed away almost two years ago.

This painting of a dog looks just like my little Ringo, who passed away almost two years ago.

Little Ringo. It's funny the ways art touches you sometimes.

Little Ringo. It’s funny the ways art touches you sometimes.

The next gallery we went to was the Glasgow Gallery of Modern Art. There was some stuff we were’t allowed to take photos of, but here are a few that I liked a lot.

GoMA in Glasgow. The building is over a hundred years old.

GoMA in Glasgow. The building is over a hundred years old.

Cacti.

Cacti.

Love the colours in this one.

Love the colours in this one.

Mom liked this one called Churchill's Dogs. I didn't get the artist's name.

Mom liked this one called Churchill’s Dogs. I didn’t get the artist’s name.

Detail.

Detail.

GoMA was great, but both Mom and I like art that’s a little older. It was nice to see what artists were up to in Glasgow, though.

The next gallery was The Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum again. This time, I’ll show you the art side. There was so much to see, so I may have overloaded this post, because I loved it all!

The Floating Heads.

The Floating Heads.

My favourite head.

My favourite head.

I'm not really a sculpture person, having a love of paint, but there were a couple of sculptures that touched me.

I’m not really a sculpture person, having an extreme love of paint, but there were a couple of sculptures that touched me.

This one is called

This one is called “Motherless”.

Renoir.

Renoir.

Cezanne.

Cezanne.

Matisse.

Matisse.

Van Gogh, obviously! Portrait of a businessman.

Van Gogh, Portrait of a businessman.

Rubens. Interestingly, he's the reason curvier women are called

Rubens. Interestingly, he’s the reason curvier women are called “Rubenesque”. Looks like me from behind! Love it!

Peploe, a Scottish artist from the early 1900's. Love his use of angles.

Peploe, a Scottish artist from the early 1900’s.

Dali, finally. This Dali painting was actually attacked and ripped in the '50's and repaired. Glad they could fix it.

Dali, finally. This Dali painting was actually attacked and ripped in the ’50’s and repaired.

Christ of St John of the Cross, Salvador Dali, 1951.

Christ of St John of the Cross, Salvador Dali, 1951. (You couldn’t even tell where it was damaged.)

Detail.

Detail.

Detail

Detail

Stained glass. Beautiful.

Stained glass. Beautiful.

art-19

The Kelvingrove also had a really great exhibit on what I always called Art Nouveau. In Scotland, it’s called the Macintosh and Glasgow Style. I don’t know which came first or if one was inspired by the other, or maybe both styles happened simultaneously. Whatever way this style came about, and whatever it’s called, I’ve always loved it! Art Nouveau is very nature inspired and it showed here in this exhibit too. My favourite, of course, was the butterfly display.

Butterflies!

Butterflies!

art-31

art-32

Furniture with butterflies!

Furniture with butterflies!

Art Nouveau selfie!

Art Nouveau selfie!

art-35

art-36

And last, we did the Portrait Gallery in Edinburgh on our last day. It was a lovely place, and it was amazing to see what these artists accomplished. It was also a glimpse into what women were wearing during different times in history.

This painting spoke to me. I just love this woman's dress and the way she is standing.

This painting spoke to me. I just love this woman’s dress and the way she is standing.(and cute shoes!)

I can't believe this was the style, but we called her Lady Poodlehead.

I can’t believe this was the style, but we called her Lady Poodlehead.

This is Flora Macdonald, one of my ancestors. My Nana was named after her. I didn't see the resemblance, but still very awesome.

This is Flora Macdonald, one of my ancestors. My Nana was named after her. I didn’t see the resemblance, but still very awesome.

And, lastly, a couple of fluffy gingers I could relate to. They seemed to be having trouble with the Scottish weather too!

And, lastly, a couple of fluffy gingers I could relate to. They seemed to be having trouble with the Scottish weather too!

DSC01195

And that’s it! I took so many more pictures, but I’m sure you’re all pictured out. Next post will not involve museums or art galleries, I promise! There will be art inspired by Scotland, maybe…or how about some knitting? I did a lot of that on the trip too!

Leave a Reply

