The Living Room

So, I know that I’ve been talking more about the kitchen reno, most likely because the kitchen was so obviously the worst room in our new house. As of today, we are still waiting for a couple of things to be done in the kitchen, so no pics there, but we also renovated our living room. I thought I would share what we did to tide you over until the kitchen’s done!

When we moved in, the living room was hideous, but had potential. High ceilings, big windows. I mean, look at that view! I think I may have mentioned this before, but I hate brown. I think it has it’s place, maybe, somewhere, but I think as a wall colour, it’s pretty hard to pull off. So, I decided, I couldn’t live with it, at all, ever!

Anyway, without further ado, here’s what we did to the living room. I love it now, and it’s definitely one of my favourite rooms in the house. I love the kitchen too, but I’m always working when I’m in there, am I right?

paint-6

Check out that view, right?

DSC00329

Here’s the brown I was talking about. Yuck!

paint-10

paint-12

In process. Oh, look. There’s Angus! Miss that guy.

paint-14

After the brown was painted over, it still wasn’t right. Those mirrored closet doors had to go!

IMG_0075

It was a really strange closet anyway. The beauty of closing it up is that I can expand the closet in my room! Yay!

IMG_0076

Painter husband can also drywall! How handy!

IMG_0077

For sale. Actually, I’ll pay you to take them away!

DSC00114

The finished living room. We took out the laminate flooring and replaced it with carpet. Now I know people really love hard wood or what have you, but I love carpet! It’s a little bit shaggy, and I can play on the floor with the kids. So comfy!

DSC00115

With the closet closed up, I have a place to hang my art!

 

DSC00121

I also love my couch and space lamp.

DSC00118

Working on setting up my bookshelf. It was so nice to finally unpack all my lovely books!

DSC00123

This is currently my favourite corner of the living room. I love that lamp!

So, there you go. My living room. If Β you’re ever in the neighbourhood, come by for a sit, or maybe even a little knit!

2 thoughts on “The Living Room

Leave a Reply

