New Look, New Opportunities

So, the look of my blog is different, if you hadn’t noticed. It was totally time for a new look. I’m coming up to my 2nd Blogiversary in a little while, and I thought it was time to change some stuff. There are also a couple of new things that I can’t talk about right now that are coming down the pipe, so that’s another good reason.

Erin Dixon Studio

I selected a new front page picture. It’s a shot of my studio, which I love. I don’t think you need an entire dedicated room/studio to be a successful artist, but it’s nice. I used to paint in my living room at night, after the kids went to bed, and I would have to pack all my stuffΒ away when I was done. This was mostly a safety issue, so the kids wouldn’t poison themselves. But also, because I’m a bit of a freak about my art things. I am not a rich person, and good art supplies are expensive! I love doing crafts and making things with the kids, but we use their supplies. Call me cheap!

passion-3

I do love having a space of my own now though. That was one of the things I really wanted when we moved into town. Eddy wanted a shop, I wanted some studio space. And maybe it’s not what you’d expect for a professional artist, it’s just a spare room with a good window, but it’s mine! All mine! And there’s a place for everything and I can hang up all my inspiration, and I can work on big pieces! A hard thing to do in my old 1200 sq ft mobile home. It’s great!

imag0002.jpg

But mostly, I’m super grateful. I am so lucky to have a room of my own. As someone once said, a woman should have a room of her own. I totally get that. Even if you aren’t an artist, it’s nice to have a place to read a book or knit something or just get away to your own space for a while. Sigh.

 

Leave a Reply

