30 Houses in 30 Days

Hello, all! Today is the launch of a new project that I’m working on and I’m so excited to share it with you! For the last little while I’ve been toying with the idea of creating a project to do on my own, something uniquely Yukon, and specific to Whitehorse. I was also tossing around ideas for a new colouring book. So that has brought me to this project; 30 Whitehorse Houses in 30 Days!

img016

Wood Street 1, ink on watercolour paper, 2017.

For those of you who don’t know, or for any of you new readers, I’m a longtime Yukoner. Maybe not as long as some, but I’ve lived here since 1982. I was six when my family moved here from Ontario. I grew up here and started my own family here, too. Over the years, and especially in recent times, I feel like Whitehorse is changing and it seems like the secret of the Yukon is getting out! Sigh.

Of course, I’ve never been one for change. I’m not good with it and I usually fight it with every nerve of my being. Even if it’s a good change! But now, my hometown is changing. Not just the new people, but also the buildings. There are a ton of new buildings going up in the downtown area as well as new subdivisions around town. I wanted to try to capture some of the old and unique houses in the Whitehorse area. There are still some houses around town that are as old as the late 1890’s and early 1900’s. Some have fallen into disrepair, some have been renovated and some completely torn down.

So I thought, why not a project, a challenge even? I have drawn some buildings before, although I’ve kind of been on a landscape kick for a couple of years now! I remember when I first moved to Toronto with my husband, we were living in Georgetown and I was compelled to draw a local church. That was back in 1998, before I had really accepted my fate as an artist. But I kept that drawing and I’ve always had a soft spot for architecture. So why not hone that skill? Why not create my own challenge to not only try to capture some of the character of my hometown, but also work on my drawing skill set?

img033

I can’t remember the name of this church, but it was in Georgetown, Ontario, near Toronto. Looks like I captured that it was built in 1825 though. (1998).

img034

I also drew this house across from where we were staying in Georgetown in 1998. (I think I became gainfully employed at Zellers shortly after this. Should have gone to art school!)

So here it is, folks; 30 houses in 30 days! I will post a different house every day for the entire month of June! I do have a couple of disclaimers, however. As much as I would like to think I can crank out a house a day, working a day job full time and raising two kids makes this a little impossible! So the houses that I’m posting vary in the time it took to draw each one. Some took me a couple hours, some of the more detailed houses took a couple days. Also, not all of the houses are old. Some of the houses are newer, some are just unique. I drew what captured my attention and what I thought might make a good colouring page!

Stay tuned! All month long I’ll be posting everyday! Hopefully I can keep up and I hope you’ll follow along. If I have enough interest, I may also be offering house portraits and you can get a drawing of your own house. After the end of June of course. Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

